All rights Reserved © The Saracen Head 2009
Designed by www.websitedesigns4u.com
The Saracen Head was built in 1755 and stood across the road from its present location, but the existing building could easily have been around for two and a half centuries. Also known as the Sarry Heid, it has an obscure and fascinating history. The pub and was owned and run by the same family for over 100 years. Nowadays, the pub is situated just across the road from the original site. The current licensee has put together a portfolio of the history of the pub as well as recent unexplained activity...
The pub is also home to the skull of the last witch to be executed in Scotland which resides in a glass case in the bar area. It is also believed that the pub is haunted by, among others, the ghost of a former owner, Angus.
To learn more about the wonderful history click on the Saracen's Head on the left.
The Saracen Head is transformed whenever Celtic Football Club have a home game. With the famous Glasgow team having their stadium just up the road, it makes the Sarry Heid an ideal stopping off point on route to the game. For those who can't get a ticket for the game it make a great substitute, with singing, laughter a big screen to watch the match on and of course many selections of beers and spirits. On every home game the flags and banners come out and transform the historic and rustic looks of the Saracen Head into one of the most famous Celtic bars in the world. For more information on The Saracen Head and Celtic click on the picture to the right.